Sales to Minors
(To report possible sales to minors call: 1-877-ID TEENS.)
Arkansas Law on Retail Sales
(A.C.A. § 26-57-257 & § 5-27-227)
Retail permit holders who sell cigarettes or tobacco products during any 48 month period to anyone under 21 years of age shall be subject to fines and suspensions of tobacco permits for up to:
- $250 for the first violation;
- $500 and 2 days for the second violation;
- $1,000 and 7 days for the third violation;
- $2,000 and 14 days for the fourth violation; and
- $2,000 and revocation for a fifth violation.
Clerks selling cigarettes or tobacco products to a minor will face criminal charges and fines up to $100 plus court costs.
Retailers must display in a conspicuous place or on each vending machine, a sign indicating that the sale of tobacco products to, or purchase of, or possession of tobacco products by a person under the age of twenty-one (21) years of age is prohibited by law.
Retailers are required to have each employee read and sign a Tobacco Server Awareness Form. This form is to be kept on file, and available for inspection. Failure to comply will result in fines being issued to the permit holder for each employee who does not have a signed server awareness form on file.
As a condition of receiving federal substance abuse block grant funds, federal law requires the State of Arkansas to conduct random, unannounced inspections of tobacco outlets to determine compliance rates. Persons under 21 years of age may be enlisted to assist an authorized agent or representative of a state or local law enforcement authority, the Arkansas Tobacco Control Board, the Arkansas Department of Health or other state government agencies in testing compliance with written parental or legal guardian consent.