SAMPLE MART, LLC TOBACCO / VAPOR SALES POLICY & PROCEDURES

Each employee of Sample Mart, LLC has a moral, ethical and legal responsibility to refuse to sell cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21.

Cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine and vapor products must not be sold to anyone under the age of 21. This is the law. Sample Mart, LLC requires all employees to check for proof of age for any customer under the age of 30 who is attempting to purchase tobacco products.

VERIFY THE CUSTOMER'S AGE BEFORE SELLING TOBACCO PRODUCTS

You are to check the ID of anyone under the age of 30. They must have an acceptable and valid Driver's License, Non Driver ID, or Commercial Driver's License to purchase tobacco products.

On Arkansas ID's issued BEFORE July 9, 2018, look for vertical format and YELLOW and RED highlight under photo showing when customer will turn 18/21. Remember, if the ID is in Vertical format, STOP and make sure the customer is 21 or older!!!



ELLOW shows under 18
RED shows under 21

On ID's issued after July 9, 2018, look for vertical format with a YELLOW highlight beside the photo. Remember if the ID is in vertical format, STOP and make sure the customer is 21 or older!!!



YELLOW shows under 18

On ID's issued after July 9, 2018, look for vertical format with a RED highlight beside the photo. Remember if the ID is in vertical format, STOP and make sure the customer is 21 or older!!!



RED shows under 21

Adult ID's are in horizontal / landscape format they have no border around photo and no highlights. They are 21 years of age or older and will look like the samples below.





A valid form of identification consists of one of the following:

- 1. Driver's License
- 2. State Issued Identification Card
- 3. Military Identification (make sure date of birth is printed on the card, if not it is not acceptable for carding purposes)
- 4. U.S Passport
- 5. U.S. Immigration Card

The identification card must contain the following:

- 1. Date of birth
- 2. Photo
- 3. Description
- 4. Expiration date
- 5. Agency that issued the card

VERIFY THE IDENTITY OF THE CUSTOMER

The person attempting to make the purchase must be the person shown on the card. The card cannot be expired. If the card is expired, the sale must be refused.

When reviewing an ID card, always do the following: verify that the photo is of the customer presenting the ID, the ID is not expired, verify that the issuing agency of the ID is acceptable, and verify that the ID has not been altered and is not fake.

If the identification card that is presented is an <u>Arkansas</u> driver's license or <u>Arkansas</u> identification card, then always verify that the photo is of the customer presenting the ID. If the identification card is in <u>vertical format</u>, look under the photo OR beside the photo to see the date the customer turns 21. If that date has not occurred yet, then refuse the sale. If that date has already occurred Red markings which indicate the person is 21 years of age or older, then verify that the ID is not expired, verify that the issuing agency of the ID is acceptable, and verify that the ID has not been altered and is not fake. <u>No math is required</u> for Arkansas driver's licenses or identification cards – simply look under / beside the photo to see when the person turns 21!

If a customer is unable to produce a valid photo ID, you must refuse the sale. They cannot purchase the product and then bring the ID back at a later time.

RESTRICTED PRODUCTS THAT CANNOT BE SOLD TO MINORS

- 1. Cigarettes
- 2. Chewing tobacco
- 3. Cigars
- 4. Snuff
- 5. Pipe tobacco
- 6. Cigarette papers
- 7. Blunt Wraps
- 8. Hookah
- 9. Snus
- 10. NON Tobacco chew (herbal dip)
- 11. Electronic Cigarettes
- 12. Vapors including CBD Vape
- 13. Alternative Nicotine Products

CONDUCTING A SALE

Card each customer <u>BEFORE</u> reaching for the tobacco/vapor product requested by the customer. First ask for a form of identification. Review the card (photo, dob, expiration date, description, agency issuing card). Be sure the person giving you the ID is the person standing in front of you. If you have placed the tobacco product on counter before carding and you determine the person is under 21 or does not have a valid ID, immediately remove product from the counter and customer's reach and state, "I'm sorry, it's against the law for me to sell this product to you, and I could lose my job". Always be polite, but be firm, and refuse the sale.

OTHER POINTS

It is illegal for a minor to purchase cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine or vapor products for anyone for any reason. A minor may not purchase these products for a parent. It is illegal for an adult to purchase these products for a minor. *Never* sell cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine and vapor products to anyone if you have reason to believe they are going to give them to someone under the age of 21. Remember, no one under 21 may possess cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine and vapor products of any kind.

BONUS PROGRAM

To encourage employees to properly check ID, if their store is checked by Arkansas Tobacco Control which ever employees are on duty and pass their check will receive a \$25.00 cash bonus. In addition, Sample Mart, LLC also has a independent firm that will check stores monthly to be sure we are carding anyone under the age of 30 who asks to purchase cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine and vapor products. If a store passes this internal review effort, the employees on duty will receive a \$25.00 bonus. Note, our secret shopper may not look under 21 he or she may be 21 to 30 years old, because our policy is to check ID for anyone appearing under 30 years of age. The Arkansas Tobacco Control informants will always be under 21.

TRAINING

Upon beginning employment with Sample Mart, LLC, all employees will receive training to ensure that they understand all state laws and company policies regarding the prohibition against selling tobacco products to minors. In particular, the training will consist of the following:

- 1. Review of Sample Mart, LLC Policy and Procedures for Tobacco / Vapor Sales
 - Each employee will read policy and manager will review the policy with them. Then employee will sign the policy indicating they have read and understand the policy.
- 2. Review of ID Brochures from Arkansas Tobacco Control
 - Employees will be shown the markings indicating underage and how to determine the customer's age
- 3. Review of WE CARD Training Materials
 - Employees will receive explanation of all We Card materials including the calendar
- 4. Review of Sample Mart, LLC Bonus Program
 - Employees will understand the importance of not selling tobacco products to minors and Sample Mart, LLC's commitment to this effort through its bonus program
- 5. Testing
 - Employees will receive assurance that they understand state law and company policy relating to tobacco sales by achieving a passing grade of 80% or higher

Once the new employee has reviewed all material relating to cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine and vapor products sales, a test will be given. A sample of the test is attached. Each employee must score at least 80% to pass the test. Anyone scoring less than 80% will be required to review the entire packet of information again after a twenty-four (24) hour waiting period. All employees will be required to pass the test and read and sign the appropriate forms before operating the cash register.

In addition to the initial training that an employee receives, training will also be conducted for all employees on a semi-annual basis. This refresher training will consist of reviewing the entire packet of information. The store manager will ensure that all records are maintained documenting all training each employee has attended.

ADDITIONAL AIDES

Sample Mart, LLC makes use of several aides to help our employees identify underage customers. Some of these aides include:

- 1. We Card Calendars at each cash register.
- 2. The cash register is programmed to check dates of birth and must be used.
- 3. Employees will receive a weekly reminder with their payroll check.
- 4. The store sales manager will remind employees daily of the need to properly check ID.

TOBACCO EMPLOYMENT FORMS

The following forms will be completed and kept on file for every employee:

- 1. Pre-employment Tobacco Test
- 2. Arkansas Tobacco Control Server Awareness Form
- 3. Consequences of Selling Tobacco to Minors Form
- 4. Employee's Agreement of Understanding

SAMPLE MART, LLC PRE EMPLOYMENT TOBACCO / VAPOR TEST

1. List the a	cceptable	e forms of	f valid ide	entification		
1	2	3	4	5		
2 List five t	hings wo	n chould	roviov wi	han ayami	ing identification cords	
				5	ing identification cards	
						
3. List six p	roducts t	hat can't b	be sold to	minors		
1	2	3	4	5	6	
4. If a custo	mer is u	nable to p	oroduce a	valid phot	ID you must do what?	
		ne ID card the sale.	-	ed but the c	ustomer clearly appears to be	over age 21, it is
			_	otten to br ake the sal	ng an ID but promises to com ·	e back later with
7. How muc	h is the	eash bonu	s amount	for passin	an Arkansas Tobacco Contro	ol check?
8. The minim	mum age	in Arkan	sas to pui	rchase toba	eco / vapor products is	?
		okay to store.		ninor who	s buying for a parent whom yo	ou know and see
10. Which w	ay do yo	u hold an	underage	e licenses /	ID to read it? (circle one)	
Employee Si	gnature:				Date:	
Store Manag					_	
STORE MIANAG	er 21809	ппе:			Date:	

SAMPLE MART, LLC Consequences of Selling Tobacco / Vapor Products to Minors

Cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine and vapor products must not be sold to anyone under the age of 21. This is the law. Anyone under the age of 30 must be carded prior to buying tobacco products. This is the company policy of Sample Mart, LLC.

Please read the attached Employee's Agreement of Understanding statement regarding company policy and other rules and laws of the State of Arkansas. This statement provides you with the exact nature of how you should handle tobacco sales in your store. Sample Mart, LLC policy is anyone under 30 must be carded to verify they are 21 before a sale can be made.

Anyone who fails to comply with these simple rules, laws and company policy may be given five days off without pay or have their employment terminated. You may now be fined \$100 for selling to a minor in Arkansas plus court cost.

It is your responsibility to Card anyone under 30 years of age to prove they are at least 21 years old before selling tobacco products. If they have no ID or are under the age of 18, remove the tobacco product from the customer's reach and state, "I'm sorry, It's against the law and I could lose my job". Always be polite, but firm in not making the sale.

Employee Signature:	Date:	
. , ,		
Store Manager Signature:	Date:	

SAMPLE MART, LLC Employee's Agreement of Understanding

I agree to the following laws, rules and company policies regarding the sale of tobacco / vapor products:

I will not sell cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine and vapor products to any person who is under the legal age of 21.

If the person is under age 30, I will require and check a valid photo identification card that establishes the bearer's date of birth.

If there is any doubt about the customer's age I will not make the sale.

I will not knowingly sell cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine and vapor products to any adult for use by individuals who are under the legal age. If I have reason to believe an adult is buying tobacco for a minor, I will not make the sale.

Employee Signature:	Date:	
Store Manager Signature:	Date:	
Store Manager Signature.	Date.	

SAMPLE MART, LLC PRE EMPLOYMENT TOBACCO / VAPOR TEST ANSWER KEY

	1.	List th	ne acceptable	forms	of val	id iden	tificatior
--	----	---------	---------------	-------	--------	---------	------------

- 1. Drivers Licenses 2. State issued ID 3. Military ID 4. US Passport 5. Immigration Card
- 2. List five things you should review when examining identification cards
 1.Photo 2. Expiration Date 3. Date of Birth 4. Description 5. Agency that issued the card
- 3. List six products that can't be sold to minors
 - 1. Blunt Wraps 2. Cigars 3. Cigarettes 4. Papers 5. E Cigarettes 6. Chewing Tobacco
- 4. If a customer is unable to produce a valid photo ID you must do what? Deny the sale
- 5. True or False? If the ID card is expired but the customer clearly appears to be over age 21, it is okay to make the sale. F
- 6. True or False? If a customer has forgotten to bring an ID but promises to come back later with a driver's license, it is okay to make the sale. F
- 7. How much is the cash bonus amount for passing an Arkansas Tobacco Control check? \$25.00
- 8. The minimum age in Arkansas to purchase cigarettes, tobacco, electronic cigarettes, alternative nicotine and vapor products is? 21 (Must turn 19 by December 31, 2019)
- 9. True or False? It's okay to sell to a minor who is buying for a parent whom you know and see outside your store. F
- 10. What shape of a licenses indicates underage?

Employee Signature:	Date:
Store Manager Signature:	Date: